Crépuscule I & II

A 12 track ambient album (1h 46m 22s) — released January 13th 2023 on Editions Mego

In the early days of Mego prior to it's transformation into Editions Mego a most unexpected release appeared amongst the radical roster. Out of all the twisted hard drive activity from PITA, General Magic, Farmers Manual etc appeared a very different kind of release. One made from a computer, but one with a softer atmosphere, cloud-like in sonic shape and even containing discernible melodies (!). This was the debut release from Japanese artist Tujiko Noriko which not only launched her career to a larger audience but opened the doors of Editions Mego to a broader range of experimental musical forms.

Noriko's particular synthesis of electronic abstraction, melody, voice and atmosphere has few peers as sound gently circles her mystical words morphing into a succession of emotive aural experiments framed as songs.

Noriko's evolution since her debut Mego release has seen further solo works alongside collaborations as well as a shift into cinema, both acting and as director.

On "Crépuscule" one can hear the influence the film medium has had on her music as visual insignia are invoked in the evocative audio at hand. Instrumental interludes further conjure a film landscape alongside the titles which also reiterate the cinematic form.

This is synthetic music with a deep human presence. The mind of a human captured wandering the fantastic realms of the internal sphere is exquisitely rendered through machines which usually prompt one to disfigure such humanistic tendencies. The warmth, serenity and dream-like environment that Noriko conjures from her tools is what makes her such a unique and outstanding artist and "Crépuscule" is an epic testament to these powers.

The title "Crépuscule" perfectly encapsulates the somnambulant nature of the music where the nocturnal shifts evoke a broad sense of calm. "Crépuscule I" features a selection of shorter 'songs' whilst "Crépuscule II" allows more room for these songs / moods to breathe with only three songs running at broader longer duration. "Crépuscule" allows the listener to view the world through Noriko's eyes. With her cunning ability to humanise machines a world of calm wonder is allowed to take focus in the frame.

Available as 2CD, digital and double-cassette. The later format by request of Noriko as it was this format she flung her debut mego demo onto Peter in Tokyo many moons ago.

Music, words, vocals and mixing by Tujiko Noriko
Recorded at Vic Studio and at home
Words on track 11 by Joji Koyama
Support vocals and voice: Vito & Len Baute Tsujiko
Euphonium: Kana Kotera
Saxophone: Kazuya Kato
Album editing, arranging and artwork by Joji Koyama
Typeface by Dinamo
Mastered by Stephan Mathieu@Schwebung

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.